Jssyouth's Blog

An experience sharing forum for JSS Youth…

How my “Parents and Daughter” puzzle was solved… March 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jssyouth @ 7:05 pm

January 27, 2008

By: Yasmin Prakash Patel

Om Namah Dada Vitragaya.

Dada Bhagwan Na Aseem Jai Jai Kar Ho.

 

Jai Sachchidanand Dadaji na Mahathmao!

One specific or rather recent experience, which I find presently stands out to me is the everyday battle, with myself (Yasmin).  I am currently a second year college student, and over the past two years studying away from home, I finally realize the importance of home.  While living at home, particularly in high school I always felt nagged.  My mummy had a great tendency to always watch over Yasmin, whenever doing wrong she would constantly say “Yasmin, thari potha ni jaat neh joh, thu hu karthi che te,” in other words, she always reminded me of my faults or mishaps.  At the time, this was horrifying to my ego, I would always be infuriated, as to why she always had to watch over me; little did I know this was one of the greatest things a mother could do, not only for her daughter, but for my (Yasmin’s) journey in further developing myself within Dadaji’s science.  As I presently sit in my apartment room, away from home, I realize how much I took for granted living at home. Not only was I constantly reminded as to what I was doing, but also of who I am. 

People have always said that your home is your mandir, and today I can honestly vow for that.  Home is where one’s sanskaar is rooted from, and where one’s culture freely flourishes within you.  While away at school it has now become my own responsibility, to follow through with what my mom had.  I now momentarily have to remind and keep tabs on myself. With this, I have come to the realization that I am my own best friend; I am Yasmin’s best friend. While at school I had the constant belief that I no longer had someone to remind me to take agna before leaving the house, I did not have anybody to do Charanvidhi with, I did not have anybody to remind me to practice reading and writing Gujarati, this of course deeply troubled me, but thankfully I was wrong.  Though it is an obvious advantage to have someone as my mom to remind me of these daily tasks, I am not alone; I will never be alone.  And because of this recent realization of mine, I no longer feel the need to be dependent on people. I have my very best friend with me at all times, listening to my every word spoken, and watching my every step taken.

 As ironic or even ridiculous as it may sound, I catch myself talking to myself correcting Yasmin when she is at fault, and I remind Yasmin when she is in fumes that no matter the circumstance Yasmin is always the doer, thus the one to blame-end of subject.  Despite becoming “acquainted” with my best friend, who will forever stand by my side, every step of the way I nevertheless still miss the life and sanskaar that my home embodies. 

My deepest apologies for any incorrect vows in which I have made, please correct me, for I am here to learn.

Jai Sachchidanand!

Yasmin Prakash Patel

Age 19

California, USA